Travel, encounter and experience German heritage alongside the Danube
  • IMG_1865 Kopie_titel.jpg
Visitor counter, Heat Map, Conversion tracking, Search Rank

In 1850, Bishop János Szcitovszky brought the canoness covent of the Mother of God to Pécs as a means of furthering Catholic education of girls. The first eight nuns came from Bratislava. The school was enlarged in 1892 by the Silesian architect Johann August Kirstein, who had studied in Vienna. The Klára-Leőwey-Secondary School still resides in the building.

The formerly religious school played a crucial part in the education of the Germans of Hungary. After World War II, a course for Germans of Hungary was established, which remains the only one until today.